Currently the developers are putting their own money into JC2-MP to keep the servers online.

Please take a few seconds of your time and disable your AdBlock plugin for our website.

Ad revenue is not going to developers, it is used purely for covering our hosting costs.

 

You are also free to donate, which removes all ads from our website!

RT @justcause: Take a break from whatever you might be doing, with this fun Just Cause 2 Multiplayer Mod video! https://t.co/wRDUXFcrV1 @jc…

2 weeks ago

July 31, 2014, 07:19:40 am

Author Topic: fatal directx error! code:3  (Read 7501 times)

sarj28

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
fatal directx error! code:3
« on: April 20, 2013, 02:04:21 pm »
I am verry angry beacose i spent two hours to try to figure this out my just cause 2 works fine but when i try to run jc2-multiplayer it give's me fatal directx error! code:3,and its rly pissing off so please help me!!

bluenayastevenson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 02:06:28 pm »
same thing here, so annoying!

Darthlex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 02:14:41 pm »
If you have more than one graphics card in your computer, you should follow these directions:

Quote
PART 1: This is to get Just Cause 2 to launch

1. Right click Just Cause 2 in your Steam Library and select PROPERTIES.
2. Select LAUNCH OPTIONS, and type in "/dxadapter=0" without quotes. (http://i.imgur.com/YaNZ8.png)

PART 2: This is to get your graphics card to render the game (Steps 4-7: http://i.imgur.com/VAkZW.png)

1. Download Nvidia Inspector from: http://tinylink.net/nvidiainspector
2. Open Nvidia Inspector
3. Click the button to the right of DRIVER VERSION.
4. From the PROFILE menu, select JUST CAUSE 2.
5. Scroll down the window until you find: Shim Rendering Mode Options per application for Optimus.
6. Click the text to the right, scroll to the top of the dropdown, and select SHIM_RENDERING_OPTIONS_DEFAULT_RENDERING_MODE
7. Click APPLY CHANGES in the top right-hand corner.
8. Run your game

sarj28

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
yea but
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2013, 02:43:26 pm »
yea i did that my single player works fine but not wen i use the jc2-multiplayer ,wen i use it it givesme fatal errore...

Koikirai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2013, 04:52:28 pm »
I get the same damn thing, i'm running a MSI GT70 with a GTX680m, from what i've read it's a dual graphics card problem. Single player works fine, but launching the JC2 exe from the multiplayer app causes it to error with the same error. I have Win 8 too.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 05:28:43 pm by Koikirai »

sarj28

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
ughh
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2013, 06:07:59 pm »
its a pain in the ass

Koikirai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2013, 06:11:07 pm »
Sarj,

What are you system specs? Or PC/Laptop model number?

Koikirai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2013, 06:50:32 pm »
Well I now know why it doesn't work. Seems to be an issue with Nvidia Optimus and the game just simply cannot pick up the nvidia card and only see's the intel card which is not capable of running JC2. I give up. -__-' I've tried everything I can think of and I just can't be bothered anymore.

Replica

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2013, 07:16:22 pm »
I have windows 8 64 bits, and i've the same problem, the single player works fine, but the jc mp, crash, Directx Code 3 -.-'

freekill44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2013, 07:27:16 pm »
you are not the only one guys i have the same problem win 8 64 bit
sp works fine mp wont launch i hate it -.-

Koikirai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2013, 07:40:44 pm »
I got it working ;) I ate some stir fry, and came back to it!

Power to the stir fry lol

If you need help I know exactly what to do.

PART 1: This is to get Just Cause 2 to launch

1. Right click Just Cause 2 in your Steam Library and select PROPERTIES.
2. Select LAUNCH OPTIONS, and type in "/dxadapter=0" without quotes. (http://i.imgur.com/YaNZ8.png)

PART 2: This is to get your graphics card to render the game (Steps 4-7: http://i.imgur.com/VAkZW.png)

1. Download Nvidia Inspector from: http://tinylink.net/nvidiainspector
2. Open Nvidia Inspector
3. Click the button to the right of DRIVER VERSION.
4. From the PROFILE menu, select JUST CAUSE 2.
5. Scroll down the window until you find: Shim Rendering Mode Options per application for Optimus.
6. Click the text to the right, scroll to the top of the dropdown, and select SHIM_RENDERING_OPTIONS_DEFAULT_RENDERING_MODE
7. Click APPLY CHANGES in the top right-hand corner.
8. Run single player and make sure your High performance GPU is running the game. If good FPS go to next step. If not go back and re-read and redo.


Open JC-MP and then fill in the options just like this and i promise it will work :D

http://i.imgur.com/Dt051Jp.jpg

I'm off to play, good luck guys!!

Darthlex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2013, 01:47:36 pm »
You realise that's *exactly* what I wrote above?


sarj28

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
pc specs
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2013, 01:55:21 pm »
i hava an asus i7 navadia 2gb and 8 gb of ram

sarj28

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
the problem
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2013, 01:58:34 pm »
i read in a lot of cases that if u have this fatal error means you have 2 grephic cards in your pc witch is bad for jc2 beacose the game guets confused

BensPixel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: fatal directx error! code:3
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2013, 02:14:32 pm »
GUYS!!!!

I FOUND A WAY FOR IT TO WORK!

TRUST ME JUST DO IT! I HAVE LITERALLY BEEN STRESSING ABOUT IT AND NOW IT WORKS!!!!

JUST FOLLOW THIS EASY VIDEO AND BAM! JC2 - MP HERE I COME :d

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8etocVBjPa4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8etocVBjPa4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8etocVBjPa4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8etocVBjPa4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8etocVBjPa4